Chakra Images

The chakra images in the book “Self-awareness and Meditation” are shown in black and white due to printing constraints. Consequently, I am giving the images here in colour. The descriptions given for each chakra in the book are taken from ancient texts. Even in these texts colours and descriptions of chakras vary, so I have chosen what is the most common. Each chakra is symbolically depicted as a lotus flower and the central part is enclosed in a pericarp. The essence of the chakra’s qualities is symbolically shown in the pericarp region. The colours usually given for the seven chakras are not the same as in these diagrams as what one usually sees in meditation are lights related to an energetic, rather than the actual chakras seen in advanced meditation by spiritual yogis. In the chakra diagrams below I show a thick ring around the central region with the usual colour associated with the chakra. These range from red for the base chakra up to violet for the crown chakra.

Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra

Ajna (Brow) Chakra

Vishuddha (Throat) Chakra

Anahata (Heart) Chakra

Manipura (Solar Plexus) Chakra

Svadhisthana (Sacral) Chakra

Muladhara (Base or Root) Chakra